Tuesday, August 27, 2013

The Pillars of the Earth series by Ken Follett

I'm currently reading the book series "Pillars of the Earth".
Author - Ken Follett (http://ken-follett.com/)

Book 1
Title - The Pillars of the Earth

From the author's website -
In a time of civil war, famine and religious strife, there rises a magnificent Cathedral in Kingsbridge. Against this backdrop, lives entwine: Tom, the master builder, Aliena, the noblewoman, Philip, the prior of Kingsbridge, Jack, the artist in stone and Ellen, the woman from the forest who casts a curse. At once, this is a sensuous and enduring love story and an epic that shines with the fierce spirit of a passionate age.

Ebook currently available for $7.99 at Amazon here.

Book 2
Title - World Without End

From the author's website -
On the day after Halloween, in the year 1327, four children slip away from the cathedral city of Kingsbridge. They are a thief, a bully, a boy genius and a girl who wants to be a doctor. In the forest they see two men killed.
As adults, their lives will be braided together by ambition, love, greed and revenge. They will see prosperity and famine, plague and war. One boy will travel the world but come home in the end; the other will be a powerful, corrupt nobleman. One girl will defy the might of the medieval church; the other will pursue an impossible love. And always they will live under the long shadow of the unexplained killing they witnessed on that fateful childhood day.

Ebook currently available for $8.89 at Amazon here.

Update: Finished reading on 9/12/2013


Post a Comment